Makeup Tips for Small Eyes

IMG_1514

Over the years, I have grown to love my small eyes but that doesn’t mean the road to getting there was easy.  I envied the girls with doe eyes; whose eyes looked open when they smiled (you small eyed girls feel me?!).  Along this journey that we call life, I have picked up a few tips tricks that I have found useful to look a little more bright eyed.

Keep the dark eye shadow in the outer corner

This fakes the appearance of a larger eye by drawing the eye outward. It makes it look as if your eye is longer than it actually is. Bringing dark eyeshadow onto the middle and inner corner of the lid can make them look smaller.  Try and stick with light shadows on the lid.

I also tend to stay away from black. If I want to make a look smokier, I find that dark browns and purples work best. They tend to be less harsh and are easier to work with than black.

Mascara

This may seem obvious, but it truly makes the biggest difference. It is the easiest and quickest way to open the eyes up.

DSC00654

1. Too Faced Better Than Sex 2. Loreal Voluminous Full Definition   3. Mary Kay Lash Love Lengthening

*helpful tip

Get your self an eyelash curler! These babies can work wonders. They can make it appear as though your wearing falsies (what’s better than looking like your wearing falsies without actually wearing them? Nothing.)

Winged liner

Aside from mascara, this is where I see a noticable difference. Creating a wing helps elongate the eye and make it appear larger. This takes a little more skill, and they may not always be symmetrical but just remember about 98% of wing wears struggle with them, myself included so just try your best!

But don’t make them too big

Wings, if too larger can overpower the eye. I try to keep mine on the smaller side (sometimes you just have to let them do their thing though).  I also don’t take the liner all the way into the inner corner. I stop at the middle of my lash line, lightly blending it in, so there isn’t an abrupt stop of liner.

1.

1.maybelline master precise liquid liner 2. maybelline eyestudio gel liner 3. mary kay kohl eyeliner

Avoid dark colors on the lower water line

Putting dark eyeliner or dark eye shadow onto the lower lash line or water line can close the eye up and make them appear smaller.  Instead, try starting at the outer corner of the eye and with your choice of color, bring it to the middle of the eye. With a small pencil brush blend it back and forth, from middle to outer until it’s blended out. Leaving the inner to middle portion open can make a huge difference.

*helpful tip

Try putting white or flesh colored eyeliner on the water liner.  It makes it look as though the white part of your eye is bigger than it actually is.

These are all little tips and tricks I have found useful to make my small eyes appear larger. Just because putting dark eye shadow onto the middle of my lid doesn’t work for me, doesn’t mean it won’t work for you. You do you girl!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment